Karan Casey – Hieroglyphs that tell the tale


Hieroglyphs That Tell the Tale is the evocative title of the new album from Waterford singer Karan Casey, which sees her return to a mix of traditional and folk song imbued with a modern twist, sitting alongside some new self-penned songs. She is joined on vocals by some of her favourite singers, including Karen Matheson, Niamh Dunne, Pauline Scanlon, Maura O’Connell and Aoife O Donovan.

SKU: VERTCD113 Categories: ,


Produced by renowned Scottish musician and Bafta-nominated composer Donald Shaw, the album also features Karan’s long-time musical collaborators Kate Ellis, Niall Vallely, James MacKintosh, Ewen Vernal, Dirk Powell and Mike McGoldrick as well as younger voices such as Sean Óg Graham & Catriona McKay. While singing songs from contemporary folk writers Janis Ian, Eliza Gilkyson, Patti Griffin, Mick Flannery and Bob Dylan, the album showcases Casey’s impressive talent as a song writer.

As with previous recordings, Karan sense of social justice comes through strongly in her choice of song, each sung with compelling conviction and a new sense of urgency, calling for an end to war, freedom and fairness for womankind and an increased awareness of the need for more love and compassion in the world. Hieroglyphs That Tell the Tale is Karan’s paeon to justice and freedom being attainable through creativity in a world of the imagination where everything is possible.

“Casey’s voice is among the loveliest in folk music and she’s a wonderful interpreter of both contemporary and traditional material.”

“Karan Casey’s latest solo venture is a thing of rare beauty.”

“The most soulful singer to emerge in Irish traditional music in the past decade.”

Hieroglyphs That Tell the Tale will be released on Vertical Records on 19th October 2018


1. Hollis Brown
2. Sixteen Come Next Sunday
3. I’m Still Standing Here
4. In The Gutter
5. Hold On
6. Doll in Cash’s Window
7. Down in the Glen
8. My One and Only You
9. Mary
10. Man of God

You may also like…